Worcester Police Memorial Ceremony


By Tiffany Williams –

On Sunday the Worcester Police Department held it’s annual Police Memorial Ceremony at Police Headquarters.

The ceremony Sunday which honored retired members of the Worcester Police Department who passed away in 2018, coincides with National Police Week and the 38th annual National Peace Officers’ Memorial Service held in Washington D.C.

Weather on the West Front of the U.S. Capitol in Washington D.C. or Worcester Police Headquarters, both memorial services reminds all of us of the sacrifice officers make.

Chief Steven M. Sargent presided over the ceremony Sunday which included the traditional bell-ringing and wreath laying.

This year, the Worcester Police Department honored the memory of:

Deputy Chief Paul F. Campbell
Lt. Edward J. Provencal
Lt. James W. Richardson
Lt. Richard N. Sargent
Sgt. Joseph C. Legor
Sgt. Angelo P. Naples
Patrolman John P. Budzinski
Patrolman Alfred R. Chaput
Patrolman George M. Coleman
Patrolman Andrew Harris
Patrolman Robert F. Jaston
Patrolman Michael F. Montiverdi
Patrolman James M. Shugrue
Patrolman Earl G. St John

Worcester Police also honored Patrolman Leon Moody who passed away on September 9, 1932 as a result of internal injuries he received while on duty.

Patrolman Leon Moody was recognized earlier this week as his name was placed on the National Law Enforcement Memorial Wall at National Police Week in DC.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s